Vivid Technology




Charles Macek

B.Ec., M.Admin, FAICD, FCA, FCPA, SF.Fin (Non Executive Chair)

Mr Macek joined the Board on 3 December 2015 and was appointed Chair on 1 May 2016. He has a B.Ec. and M.Admin, both from Monash University; and, is a Fellow of the AICD, CPA, ICAA and a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

He is currently the Chairman of Earthwatch Institute (Australia); a Director of Vicinity Ltd. since 2011, where he also chairs the Remuneration Committee; a Director of Windlab Ltd since July 2017; a Director of Sinefa Pty. Ltd.; a member of the Investment Committee at Unisuper Ltd.; and, a member of the ASIC Director Advisory Panel. He had a long executive career in financial services encompassing Australia, New Zealand, UK and Japan. In his non-executive career he has been a Director of Telstra (2001-09) and Wesfarmers (2001-14;) and, is a former Chairman of IOOF and of the Financial Reporting Council; and was Vice-Chairman of the IFRS Advisory Council (2009-14), and was a member of the inaugural ASIC External Advisory Panel.

Samuel Marks

CA B.Bus (Managing Director)

Mr Marks was appointed as Managing Director on 1 July 2012. Mr Marks has over 17 years global commercial experience across accounting, consulting, corporate finance and corporate roles. He commenced his career with Coopers & Lybrand (PwC) in the Middle Market team, followed by Arthur Anderson (now KordaMentha) in their advisory / insolvency team. Prior to founding the Toroso Group (subsequesntly Main Street Capital) in 2009, Mr Marks completed 7 years within General Electric based in Australia and the United States, and was responsible for leading and executing projects across the US, UK, Europe, Australia, China and Hong Kong. 

Mr Marks is a Chartered Accountant with a Bachelor of Business and is Six Sigma qualified through General Electric. He is also a director of The Melbourne Foundation, a not-for-profit organisation which provides education opportunities for financially disadvataged youth. Mr Marks has not held any other directorships of listed companies during the three year period prior to 30 June 2017.

Leslie Butterfield

BSc Civil Eng.,  AICD, AIPM, AIM (Non-Executive Director)

Ms. Butterfield joined the Board on 1 May 2016.  She holds a Bachelor of Science Civil Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, NY.  She is currently a Non Executive Director of RKF Engineering, and the Australian Literacy and Numeracy Foundation, and until August 2017 was also a Non-Executive Director of UniQuest.  Leslie's international and local experience spans project management, business development, corporate advisory, corporate finance, strategic planning and operational management in the construction, technology and telecommunications sectors.  She served on the Board of Australia's largest public R&D fund, and was one of a panel of three industry representatives appointed by the nine government ministers to review the progress, strategies and future direction of the National Building Codes Board. Ms Butterfield is the Chair of the Remuneration Committee.

John T. Kopcheff

B.Sc. (Hons) (Geology and Geophysics), SPE, AIMM, AAPG, PESA (Non Executive Director)

Mr Kopcheff was appointed to the Board on 13 July 2006.  He is a geologist and geophysicist, and holds a Bachelor of Science (Honours) from the University of Adelaide (1970).  He has extensive experience in Australia, South East Asia, USA, South America and the North Sea, both in field operations and management including sales for a division of a major service copmpany to the oil industry, Baker-Hughes. 

Mr Kopcheff held the position of Managing Director of Victoria Petroleum Ltd (now Senex Energy Ltd) from August 1984 until late July 2010 and continued on their board as Executive Director until resigning on 22 September 2010. He was also a non executive director of Great Panther Silver Limited from August 2001 through to 30 June 2012 when he resigned from the position. Mr Kopcheff is the Chair of the Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Philip Zajac

B.Comm, F.Fin (Non Executive Director)

Mr Zajac was appointed to the Board on 4 September 2014, and has over 30 years of commercial experience in the finance industry. He is currently the CFO and an executive director of the Erdi Group of companies, a director of Erdi Fuels Pty Ltd, and a non-executive director of NewCO2Fuels Ltd (Israel).

Mr Zajac is involved in the development, ownership and management of eight hotels in Victoria, Sydney and Brisbane, along with the design and construction of affordable student housing and apartments. He also runs an extensive philanthropy programme across  Australia and overseas. No other directorships of listed companies were held at any time during the three years prior to 30 June 2017.

Mr Zajac is also a member of the Audit Committee and of the Remuneration Committee.